The Finsiders
The Finsiders Blog
Don Shula Wins Lamar Hunt Award
By on February 22, 2013 at 4:01 pm

don-shulaIt was announced today that the winningest coach in NFL history, Don Shula, will be given the Lamar Hunt Award.

The award, named after the former Chiefs owner who was critical in the foundation of the American Football League, is given to “an individual who helped to shape professional football.”

In his 33-year coaching career, Shula collected 347 victories, coached in six Super Bowls and led the Dolphins to a perfect 17-0 record in 1972.

Previous winners of the award include Roger Staubach, Willie Lanier and Steve Sabol.

The award will be given on March 2nd in Kansas City.

Please Note:
The opinions, analysis and/or speculation expressed by The Finsiders Blog represent those of individual writers, and unless quoted or clearly labeled as such, do not represent the opinions, policies or desires of the Miami Dolphins organization, front office, coaches and executives. Writers' views are formulated independently from any inside information and/or conversation with Dolphins officials, including the coaches and scouts, unless otherwise noted.
Read More:

2 Responses to “Don Shula Wins Lamar Hunt Award”

  1. doorcorp says:

    Its about time. Thanks Wayne for ruining the greatest storyline in NFL history. You douched Don Shula & Dan Marino? Congratulations. I would sell too as quick as I realized I didnt have a clue.

  2. doorcorp says:

    Jim Johnson. Are you serious?

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.