The Finsiders
The Finsiders Blog
Gameballs, 2010 Season
By on January 4, 2011 at 8:15 pm

With the 2010 season in the rearview mirror for the Miami Dolphins, I figured it might be fun to tally up the gameballs that we have given out all year long. After every game, win or lose, Jim Mandich, Joe Rose, Jimmy Cefalo, Sam Madison, Keith Sims, John Congemi, and I have all given out gameballs to the players we felt had the greatest individual performances for the Dolphins in a given game. Here are the final numbers, some of which may surprise you…

Cameron Wake (“Mr. Sack”) lead the team with 15 gameballs given out over the course of the season, three more than…Dan Carpenter. Yep, it was that kind of year for DC and the Fins, as the kicker was the second most honored player of the season. Despite perceived deficiencies on offense, both Brandon Marshall and Davone Bess received nine gameballs apiece, third most on the team. After that, Chad Henne got eight, Brian Hartline had six, and Paul Soliai and punter Brandon Fields each had five.

One of the things that made me chuckle was that Jason Allen, who was released in early November, was next, with four gameballs, though he received all of them after his monster two-pick game at Minnesota in the second week of the season.

Tyler Thigpen, Ricky Williams, and Anthony Fasano all had three gameballs this year, while Karlos Dansby, Sean Smith, Yeremiah Bell, Jake Long, and Vontae Davis were all given two.

Thanks to everyone who voted with us all season long and we look forward to handing out a lot of gameballs after a lot of wins in 2011!

Please Note:
The opinions, analysis and/or speculation expressed by The Finsiders Blog represent those of individual writers, and unless quoted or clearly labeled as such, do not represent the opinions, policies or desires of the Miami Dolphins organization, front office, coaches and executives. Writers' views are formulated independently from any inside information and/or conversation with Dolphins officials, including the coaches and scouts, unless otherwise noted.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.